Austin Area High School Sports Awards: Spring Sports Nominees

Austin area

The Austin American-Statesman is proud to announce the nominees for each spring sport for the Austin Area High School Sports Awards presented by Thomas J. Henry Law. The show will be held on June 6th at The Long Center: Dell Hall and will begin at 7:30pm where the winner will be announced.

The show honors more than 200 high school athletes from across the Austin area and recognizes player of the year for more than 20 sports. There will also be several major awards including Overall Girls Athlete of the Year, Boys Athlete of the Year, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and the Courage Award.

Nominated athletes must register for the event here. Each nominated athlete will receive one free ticket to enter the show. Additional tickets can be purchased here. Full details are available at

Here are the nominees for each spring sport:


Sponsored by Whataburger

Grant Anderson, Vista Ridge High School – SO

Jackson Baker, Lake Travis High School—JR

Matthew Brooks, Cedar Ridge High School – SR

Brayden Buchanan, Vandegrift High School – SR

Blake Coleman, LC Anderson High School – SR

Wyatt Cunningham, McCallum High School – SR

Colby Diaz, Rouse High School-SR

Jonathan Gonzales, Bowie High School-JR

OJ Gonzalez, Lake Travis High School-JR

Matthew Gula, Westwood High School – SR

Jackson Harrell, Vista Ridge High School—JR

Aidan Johnson, LC Anderson High School – SR

Cole Johnson, Lake Travis High School—JR

Kaden Kaspar, Rouse High School-JR

Kaeden Kent, Lake Travis High School – SR

Ethan McAlister, Johnson High School-JR

Ben Merriman, Bowie High School-JR

Ridge Morgan, Westwood High School – SO

DJ Pinkerton, Hendrickson High School-JR

Anthony Simmons, Bowie High School – SR

Ed Small, LC Anderson High School – FR

Zach Spradling, Hays High School – SR

Travis Sykora, Round Rock High School-JR

Cody Templeton, Johnson High School – SR

soft ball

Sponsored by Whataburger

Taylor Anderson, Dripping Springs High School—JR

Maddy Azua, Round Rock High School-JR

Emilee Baker, Thorndale High School – SR

CJ Castilla, San Marcos High School – Jr

Jordan Cox, Dripping Springs High School-JR

Mia Garcia, Lake Travis High School – SR

Anya German, Bowie High School – SO

SJ Geurin, Leander Gymnasium — SR

Taylor Harwood, Bowie High School – SO

Elizabeth Joyner, Westwood High School – SR

Dalia King, Weiss High School – SR

Megan Lee, Leander High School—SR

Kennedy Miller, Georgetown High School—JR

Olivia Moreno, Bowie High School-SR

Marley Neises, Leander High School – SR

Katie Noble, Hays High School – SR

Paige O’Connor, Lake Travis High School – SR

Lindsey O’Dell, Taylor High School-JR

Brooke Otto, Smithville High School – SR

Leti Paiz, LC Anderson High School – JR

Skye Perez, Hyde Park High School – SUN

Emma Solis, Bowie High School-SR

Isa Torres, Georgetown High School-JR

Brooke Wells, Vista Ridge High School – SUN

boys golf

Jackson Donaldson, Wimberley High School – SO

Knox Renfro, Lago Vista High School—JR

Braden Smith, Lago Vista High School – SR

Jacob Sosa, Westlake High School-SR

Andrew Tan, Vandegrift Grammar School – SR

Keaton Vo, LC Anderson High School – SR

girls golf

Hallie Adare, Wimberley High School – SR

Ally Black, Westlake High School-SR

Sydney Givens, Vandegrift High School – SUN

Jiyu Han, Round Rock High School—JR

Farah O’Keefe, LC Anderson High School – SR

Emmy Tran, Leander High School-SR

boys football

Ivan Aguilar, Taylor High School-JR

Jud Anderson, LC Anderson High School – SO

Phillip Arceneaux, La Grange High School – Jr

Alex Bethke, Lake Travis High School-SR

Ryan Clanton-Pimentel, Rouse High School – JR

Noe Gutierrez, Del Valle High School – SR

Adam Knutson, Dripping Springs High School – SR

Zach Kos, Bowie High School-SR

Carlos Manzano, Rouse High School-JR

Javier Ortega, Dripping Springs High School – SR

Seth Parsegian, McCallum High School – SR

Angel Perez Cortes, Northeast Early College High School – SR

Ben Platt, Lake Travis High School – SR

Jose Reyes, Eastside Memorial Early College High School—JR

Erick Rios, Hendrickson High School-JR

Connor Sanders, Lake Travis High School – SR

Ethan Semelsberger, Vandegrift High School – SR

Raghav Sharma, Westlake High School – SR

Adrian Solano, McNeil High School – SR

Luis Suarez, Austin Achieve High School – SR

Israel Trujillo, Pflugerville High School—SR

Martin Valdes, Georgetown High School – SO

Bernardo Vargas Lopez, Lake Travis High School – SR

Beifait Yonyimiki, Northeast Early College High School—JR

girls soccer

Sabrina Blount, Cedar Park High School – SR

Libby Broker, Vandegrift High School—JR

Ella Buie, LC Anderson High School – JR

Aislinn Concannon, Westwood High School – SR

Camila Espinoza, Prep School for IDEA Montopolis College – SO

Peyton Ferrell, Lake Travis High School – SR

Mia Gomez, McCallum High School – SR

Ellie Hodsden, Dripping Springs High School – FR

Alexa Huerta, The Ann Richards School for Young Women Leaders – SR

Jayden Jones, Gateway College Prep School – FR

Laney Kalsu, St. Michael Catholic Academy – SO

Nora Kolerich, Stephen F. Austin High School-JR

AJ Mayock, Round Rock High School – SUN

Mia Merritt, Lake Travis High School – SR

Atlee Olofson, Westwood High School-JR

Emma Payton, Westlake High School-JR

Bella Poppel, Burnet High School—SR

Jaida Rodea, Giddings High School – FR

Angelyna Rosales, Hendrickson High School – SR

Bailey Sapinoro, Vandegrift High School – SR

Riley Sisson, Dripping Springs High School-JR

Emma Stephens, Liberty Hill High School – SR

Emily Thames, Wimberley High School-JR

Skylar Zinnecker, Westwood High School-JR

boys tennis

Aashish Dhanani, Westwood High School – SO

Drew Gonzalez, Wimberley High School – SR

Tate Murphy, Wimberley High School – SR

Milind Mutala, Liberal Arts and Science Academy High School – SR

Kael Peterson, Lake Travis High School – SR

Aadhi Raja, Westwood High School—JR

girls tennis

Elaine Flax, Georgetown High School – SO

Kinaa Graham, Westwood High School-JR

Isabella Reusch, Hendrickson High School-JR

Ava Sieckmann, Georgetown High School – SUN

Idara Udiok, Hendrickson High School-SR

Chloe Zeng, Westlake High School – SUN

Boys Athletics

Kevin Adams, Cedar Park High School – SR

Hudson Bennett, Burnet High School-JR

Nathan Brooks, Wimberley High School-JR

Cristion Davis, Vandegrift High School-SR

JaHazniah Griffin, St. Michael Catholic Academy – Jr

Kepler Huntress, Liberal Arts and Science Academy High School—JR

Che Nwabuko, Manor High School – SR

Juan Olmedo, Wimberley High School – SR

Christopher Riley, McCallum High School – SR

Kevin Sanchez, Vandegrift High School-JR

Ashton Torns, Westlake High School-JR

Carlo Uglow, Hays High School – FR

Athletics for girls

Isabel Conde de Frankenburg, Cedar Park High School – SUN

Laney Kalsu, St. Michael Catholic Academy – SO

Hali Murphy, St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School – SR

Suzanne Ogunleye, Hendrickson High School – SR

Deja Okonji, Manor New Technology High School – SR

Ariyah Samuels, Blanco High School – SR

Cadence Sansom, Lago Vista High School – SR

Nikolette Schmidt, Smithville High School – SR

Chesni Scott, Vista Ridge High School-JR

Camille Terracina, Catholic Academy of St. Michael – SR

Carlie Weiser, Giddings High School-JR

Autumn Wilson, St Dominic Savio Catholic High School – SR


Leave a Comment