Austin McCarl works traffic to perfection

5 28 mcarl

Austin McCarl on the winning track at Knoxville Raceway. (Photo Knoxville Raceway)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Austin McCarl made a series of exciting moves in traffic to score a heart stopper on Saturday’s Vermeer Night at Knoxville Raceway.
Victory aboard Country Builders Construction No. 88 was worth $5,000 to the driver from Altoona, Iowa.

Aaron Reutzel, one of the players in the 410 feature, won his second career Knoxville 360 ​​feature and Mike Mayberry won for the second time this year and fourth time in his career at the Pro Sprints presented by Pace Performance.

Kerry Madsen shot from pole to take the early lead in the 20-lap 410 feature, ahead of McCarl, Reutzel, Ayrton Gennetten and Justin Henderson.

On lap four, Reutzel attempted a slider onto McCarl in turn four. None rose as they were inches from the disaster. McCarl would keep his seat.
Madsen got into the lapped traffic on lap seven and McCarl caught up halfway through. On lap 14, McCarl made two exciting maneuvers in traffic at turn one to break away from a battle for second place with Reutzel.

On round 17, McCarl used the low side to reel in Madsen and use a lapper as a pick. He took the lead and pulled away here for his sixth 410 win of his career.
Madsen stayed second ahead of Reutzel, Gennetten and Henderson.

“I didn’t want to make any mistakes and put my car where it needed to be,” said McCarl. “I want to thank Aaron Reutzel for not putting me third and fourth early in the race. That’s where it got a little hairy. I wouldn’t lift, and I knew he wouldn’t either. It was actually quite funny with him. Kerry Madsen and Aaron Reutzel are two of the top 10 sprint car drivers in the world and I have a lot of respect for those guys. I really wanted to win. (The route) was three lanes there. Just kudos to the Dunkins.”

The end:

Feature (20 laps): 1st Austin McCarl (2); 2.Kerry Madsen (1); 3. Aaron Reutzel (4); 4. Ayrton Gennetten (3); 5.Justin Henderson (6); 6. Lynton Jeffrey (5); 7.Carson McCarl (8); 8.JJ Hickle (7); 9. Sawyer Phillips (13); 10. Matt Juhl (10); 11. Davey Heskin (14); 12.Riley Goodno (15); 13.Josh Schneiderman (11); 14.Thomas Kennedy (17); 15.Tasker Phillips (16); 16.Ryan Giles (9); 17. AJ Moller (12); 18. Chris Martin (18); 19.Tim Estenson (20); 20. Dustin Selvage (24); 21. Nathan Mills (22); 22.Presley Truedson (19); 23. Tyler Drueke (21); 24.Ben Brown (25); 25. Bobby Mincer (23) DNS – Joe Simbro, Landon Hansen. Leaders: K Madsen 1-16, A McCarl 17-20. Charger: S Phillips.

Leave a Comment