close
close

CPC and CBC Sports will livestream the Canada Cup wheelchair rugby tournament June 2-5 as part of the Paralympic Super Series

Taking place at the Richmond Olympic Oval, the Canada Cup returns to the wheelchair rugby calendar for the first time since 2018. Usually held every two years, it brings together the best nations in the world and is considered one of the biggest tournaments outside of the Paralympic Games and World Championships.

Six of the best countries in the world will compete for the title at the 2022 edition – Japan (No. 2), Great Britain (3), Australia (4), France (5), Canada (6) and Denmark (7).

Canada represents a team of 12 players. All five round-robin games, as well as the bronze and gold medal games, will be streamed live by the Canadian Paralympic Committee Facebook site and Paralympic.approx as well as CBC Sports digital platforms: the free CBC gem streaming service, cbcsports.caand the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android Devices.

“We can’t wait to play on home soil again in front of the Canadian fans, both in the stands and via streaming from home,” said team member Cody Caldwella two-time Paralympian.

Paralympian Benoit Huot, a 20-time medalist in para-swimming, will be the CPC’s on-site reporter, providing interviews with the athletes and additional content to enhance the live streams and overall coverage of the CPC’s digital channels.

The Paralympic Super Series was first created in 2019 to provide year-round parasport competition spotlight and additional live coverage of events. It has provided coast-to-coast coverage of several competitions including World Para Swimming, Para Cycling, Wheelchair Basketball, Para Ice Hockey, Para Athletics, Para Alpine Skiing and Para Nordic Skiing World Championships.

“We are very excited about the return of the Canada Cup and excited to be able to help viewers across the country catch the action through the Paralympic Super Series,” he said Karen O’Neill, CEO, Canadian Paralympic Committee. “Thank you also to our valued partners at CBC Sports who continue to showcase Paralympic sport throughout the year. The Canada Cup is a special event that will highlight the very best in wheelchair rugby right here on Canadian soil. Congratulations to the organizers of the BC Wheelchair Sports event for their immense work and we look forward to supporting and cheering on the tournament Canada.”

Canada will compete in five preliminary round matches, with the top two countries advancing to the gold medal match and the third- and fourth-placed teams battling for bronze.

2th of June
4:30 p.m. ET / 1:30 p.m. PT – Canada vs. France
10:30 p.m. ET / 7:30 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Australia *CPC platforms only

3rd of June
9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – Canada vs Denmark

June 4th
3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT – Canada vs. Great Britain
9 p.m. ET / 6 p.m. PT – Canada vs Japan

June 5th
1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT – Bronze medal game
4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT – Gold Medal Game

To learn more about the Canada Cup, visit CanadaCupWCRugby.com. please visit Paralympic.ca/Paralympic-super-series for more information on the Super Series and to follow @CDNParalympics for live updates throughout the tournament.

About the Canadian Paralympic Committee: Paralympic.approx

About CBC Sports

CBC/Radio Canada is canada Olympic Network by 2032 and canada Paralympic Network by 2024. The national public broadcaster has committed to presenting Canadian and international athletes and sports on all platforms under the CBC Sports and Hockey Night in Canada brands, including on television, online at cbcsports.ca and through the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. CBC Sports is proud to tell the step-by-step story of the high-level athlete’s journey, ensuring Canadians always know the people they represent before they see them on the podium.

Follow CBC Sports on social media at: Facebook: /CBCSports Twitter: @cbcsports Instagram: @cbc.sports

Media contacts:

Nicole Watts
manager, public relations
Canadian Paralympic Committee
[email protected] / 613-462-2700

Johanna Landsberg
CBC Public Relations
[email protected] / 647-628-4788

For Canada Cup media information:
Nathan Bragg
BC Wheelchair Sports Association
[email protected] / 604-715-7298

Media information on Team Canada at the Canada Cup:
Nathan Lederer
Communications and Marketing Coordinator
Wheelchair Rugby Canada
[email protected] / 905-531-7428

SOURCE Canadian Paralympic Committee (Sponsorship)

Leave a Comment