Moran stops Davenport at WVMS

Lucas Wvms

Davin Moran (9) leads Jonathan Davenport to the checkered flag at West Virginia Motor Speedway. (Photo by Heath Lawson)

MINERAL WELLS, W.Va. — Devin Moran retook the lead from Jonathan Davenport on lap 24 to earn the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win Friday night at West Virginia Motor Speedway.

It was the series’ first appearance at the Cody Watson-sponsored five-eighth-mile facility since 2013.

Both Moran and Davenport each led 15 laps during the 30-lap, caution-free Main Event. Gregg Satterlee finished third, followed by Ricky Thornton Jr. and Earl Pearson Jr.

Moran took the lead early in the race with Davenport in tow. Moran was leading until Davenport passed him on lap ten to take the race lead.

Davenport extended his lead and appeared on course for his fourth straight WVMS win, but Moran caught the three-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Champion in heavy traffic, passing him on the inside on Lap 24.

“Obviously, JD has got things rolling. His car is really good. I have a lot to do to beat him tomorrow,” said Moran. “Wylie (Moran) said before the race that lapping traffic would be important; I was hoping that we would be leading at this point. He tried to get around these guys and just screwed it up. I could slide under him.”

The key to the 27-year-old Ohio native’s victory was not getting too close to the lapped traffic.

“That was definitely the biggest key to our win,” said Moran. “I didn’t want to get too close to those lapped cars when they were crammed together, I didn’t want to do what he was doing. The track was a bit difficult tonight but it was really slippery. I’m sure Cody (Watson) will have a great time tomorrow.”

Davenport, who entered the event to claim his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season, came home with another second place finish.

“It’s going to be kind of like Groundhog Day, every time we make the right move to take the lead, I lose it in lapped traffic,” Davenport said. “I really tried to distance myself from the lapped traffic. I made some moves that I really didn’t want to make there. It was really difficult to get out of a lapped car. Congratulations to Devin on the win and thanks to my guys for giving me another good hot rod.”

At the end, Satterlee was right in the middle of the action when he completed the podium in third place.

“It was a good night for us. Top 3, we can’t complain about that. We learned a few things about the car tonight. We have to be a little more agile in terms of function. The lapped traffic was quite difficult to handle.”

The end:

Devin Moran, Jonathan Davneport, Gregg Satterlee, Ricky Thornton Jr, Earl Pearson Jr, Kyle Strickler, Brandon Sheppard, Tyler Erb, Tim McCreadie, Hudson O’Neal, Brandon Overton, Spencer Hughes, Garrett Alberson, Ashton Winger, Ross Robinson , Rod Conley, Daulton Wilson, Freddie Carpenter, Edward Shuman, Doug Drown, Ryan Montgomery, Bryan Bernheisel, Brandon Francis, Mike Marlar.

Leave a Comment