Pirkle convinces at Kennedale

D80 1688

Jacob Pirkle, in command from start to finish, won the Friesen Performance IMCA Modified Feature in Saturday’s All Star Shootout Show at home track Kennedale Speedway Park. (Photo by Karen Davis)

KENNEDALE, Texas — His consistent placements earned Jacob Pirkle the 2021 All Star Shootout title.

A convincing flag-to-flag run at the front of the field earned him a $1,500 Friesen Performance IMCA Modified Feature win in Saturday night’s 25-lap shootout show at Kennedale Speedway Park.

“This is my home track, I started from the front row and thought I had a lot to prove. Tonight was very good for us,” said Pirkle, who was in heavy traffic going halfway through the track and was unchallenged after the second consecutive restart on lap 18. “I really wanted to win and tonight we got him. The track really played in my favor. I like a little pillow.”

Chris Morris took second place from Tanner Whitmire on lap 20 and finished just over a second behind Pirkle. Steven Whiteaker Jr., Whitmire and Larry Adams completed the top five.

Pirkle started out at KSP with a Southern SportMod race; He is now in his third modified season there.

“I had no idea where second place was. I was always looking for someone to poke my nose in, but it never happened,” he said. “I don’t know if the caution was good, but it was fun driving through the lapped traffic.”

Pirkle is already eligible to qualify for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational. He took home another check for $1,500 from Kennedale’s Showdown Special last November.

Jeffrey Abbey became the first repeat All Star Shootout winner and led all 20 laps of the carefree IMCA Sunoco Stock Car feature, and New Mexico traveler John Reid Jr. led start to finish in an equally fast Smiley’s Racing Products IMCA Southern SportMod Barnburner .

Both races paid $750 to win.

Abbey was eligible for the B&B Racing Chassis All-Star qualification. Cameron Cook was second every time around the track and stayed close most of the time before Abbey got a lapped car between them in the late drive.

National points leader Blake Clark, Lance Hanson Jr. and 12th seed Shelby Williams were next across the strip.

Reid pulled pole and checked out caution in the SportMod Main before and after seven laps. After catching the back of the pack, he knocked Brandon Geurin down the stripe by 2 1/2 seconds. Andy Hulcy, Boone Evans and Dean Abbey rounded out the top five.

Michael Trammell was the winner of the Mach-1 IMCA Sports Compact.

The fourth and final edition of the All Star Shootout will be held at Heart O’ Texas Speedway on Sunday with pit gates opening at 4:00 p.m. and grandstands at 5:00 p.m. The hot laps are at 5:30 p.m. and the races at 7:00 p.m

Speed ​​Sport TV affiliate IMCA.TV will broadcast the finals in Waco.

Leave a Comment